Midweek Music: Too-Rye-Ay

Considering I was only born in 1995, I guess it’s pretty odd that I grew up listening to music from bands like The Jags and Dexys Midnight Runners. The reason for this oddity is that my father made it his personal mission when my sister and I were kids to create a “good” music taste in each of us. Apparently, “good” means anything but pop music. Personally, I try to listen to music from as many genres as possible, but I guess even that may be because such an effort was made to introduce us to non-chart music.

This week, the album that has been on repeat in my room is Dexys Midnight Runners’ “Too-Rye-Ay”, and I just love it. The whole album is just relentlessly happy. I mean, come on. Jackie Wilson Said? Come On Eileen? How is it possible not to fall in love with this album?

So, without further ado, here is my playlist for the week:

  1. Dexys Midnight Runners – Come On Eileen
  2. The Boomtown Rats – Rat Trap
  3. The Alarm – 68 Guns
  4. Blur – Badhead
  5. David Bowie – Oh! You Pretty Things
  6. Elbow – Starlings
  7. The Jam – Going Underground
  8. Elvis Costello – I Can’t Stand Up for Falling Down
  9. The Dandy Warhols – Get Off
  10. Talking Heads – Road to Nowhere
  11. Dexys Midnight Runners – The Celtic Soul Brothers
  12. Blur – He Thought of Cars
  13. David Bowie – Drive In Saturday
  14. Elbow – Weather To Fly
  15. Talking Heads – Blind
  16. The Hoosiers – Worst Case Scenario
  17. The Style Council – Walls Come Tumbling Down
  18. Duke Special – Last Night I Nearly Died
  19. The Lambrettas – Da-A-A-Ance
  20. Arctic Monkeys – Red Light Indicates Doors Are Secured
  21. Joe Jackson – Is She Really Going Out With Him?
  22. The Hoosiers – Cops and Robbers
  23. Blur – For Tomorrow
  24. Elbow – The Loneliness of a Tower Crane Driver
  25. Dexys Midnight Runners – Jackie Wilson Said

For anyone who doesn’t have the joy of owning a copy of Too-Rye-Ay, I’ve made a playlist on YouTube.

Happy listening!

Tx

Leave a Reply

