Image

My mother truly is my hero, and I will happily say that every day of the year, not just on Mother’s Day.

There has not been a single time that she hasn’t been there for me. In an ever-moving, ever-changing world, my mother has been the single constant that I have always known I could rely on. She has always pushed me just enough so that I know I should always apply myself fully to everything, but not so much as to be a “pushy parent”. She has always encouraged me to pursue my interests, be it music, art, sport or literature, and given me full support in all my endeavors, even those that were doomed to fail from the offset (badminton is NOT a sport for someone with as little coordination as I have). If it wasn’t for my mother, I would not be studying English in my dream university. I would be studying some subject I absolutely hate, but sounds impressive when I’m asked about it.

My mother taught me to draw, play piano and ride a bike. Behind every achievement, big or small, there was my mother, standing in the background in support. And this is just the “normal” parenting stuff.

My mother works 3 jobs just to pay the bills, and does none of these jobs in half-measures. Along with this, she sings in two choirs, acts as an accompanist, and plays the organ in church most Sundays. When she’s not working on any of these things or helping my sister and I out of whatever trouble we’ve got ourselves in, she’s working in her beautiful garden or painting in the shed (did I mention that she’s an incredible artist?)

Is this enough to convince you that she’s a superhero? Perhaps I should tell you that 4 years ago, her own mother died and guess who it was that has had to organise memorials, help with the will, and try to keep the whole family tied together? That’s right, my mother.

I am immensely proud to call this amazing woman my mother. She has been here for my sister and I, and her entire family, through every single drama for as long as I can remember. If I am even slightly similar to her when I grow up, I will know that I have done something right.

So happy Mother’s Day mum, and happy Mother’s Day to all the other superhero mums out there.

Thank you for making all of this possible.

Love,

Tabitha.

One thought on “It may be a bit of a cliché calling my mother my hero on Mother’s Day, but…

Leave a Reply

