Midweek Music: You Say, We Say

Ever feel like you’ve just completely jinxed something? 

This week, the album on repeat in my room is Royseven’s “You Say, We Say”. I rediscovered my love for this album on Thursday, when I found the CD on my shelf, poking out between Radiohead and Slipknot. In my opinion, the album is strong all the way through, but my absolute favourite tracks are “Channel 103 on My T.V.” and “Walls”. 

I had the great fortune of seeing Royseven perform live at the Donegal Town Summer Festival a couple of years ago, and they were just great. Not only did they give a brilliant performance, but they also made time to talk to the fans after the show. It’s always nice to discover that the musicians you look up to are also really nice people. I can happily say that all the members of Royseven were completely dead on. My mother went as far as to say that lead vocalist Paul Walsh was “the sort of guy you could introduce to your grandmother”. 

Image

Image

Image

On Monday, I came home from lectures, threw “You Say, We Say” into my CD player and opened Facebook on my laptop. Guess what the first thing I saw would be? This message.

Dear All,

With heavy hearts we’ve decided to bring down the curtain on our Royseven adventure. Rather than disappointment, we feel an overwhelming sense of gratitude and satisfaction for the last eleven years of creativity, performance and friendship. To those in Ireland, Germany, Switzerland and Great Britain who worked with us, supported or encouraged us, we’d like to thank you for helping to create experiences that were once mere childhood dreams. We each intend to continue writing and performing but this musical chapter has come to an end. We’ll be forever grateful for the wonderful memories you’ve gifted us. Thank you so very much, one and all.

Royseven – Paul, Eamonn, Dazzy, Lego, Sam, Bernard.
xxx

It’s like they KNEW I had just rediscovered them and were punishing me for not listening to them consistently over the years. Heartbreak, heartbreak. Looks like we’ll have to make do with the two albums we already have, because we’re not getting any more!

I’m just grateful I got to see them while I still had the chance. 


 

You Say, We Say Playlist

  1. Royseven – Channel 103 On My T.V.
  2. Duke Special – Freewheel
  3. Bell X1 – Alphabet Soup
  4. Biffy Clyro – Shock Shock
  5. Two Door Cinema Club – You’re Not Stubborn
  6. Royseven – You Say, We Say 
  7. Elbow – The Bones of You
  8. Blur – Parklife
  9. Muse – Exo-Politics
  10. Arctic Monkeys – You Probably Couldn’t See For The Lights But You Were Staring Straight At Me
  11. Royseven – Walls
  12. Delorentos – Stop
  13. Foo Fighters – Wheels
  14. The Dandy Warhols – Bohemian Like You
  15. U2 – Window In The Skies
  16. Royseven – We March On
  17. Radiohead – Street Spirit (Fade Out)
  18. The Cure – The Lovecats
  19. Biffy Clyro – Bubbles
  20. Two Door Cinema Club – Eat That Up, It’s Good For You
  21. Royseven – You Can’t Hide That
  22. Bell X1 – Eve, The Apple Of My Eye
  23. Muse – Assassin
  24. Arctic Monkeys – When The Sun Goes Down
  25. Royseven – Dance

(Apologies for repeated artists, I like to try to keep all of the songs in a playlist sort of similar(ish) so sometimes I have to use the same band twice!)

Tx

One thought on “Midweek Music: You Say, We Say

Leave a Reply

