Que Sera Sera

What is fate? Destiny? Are we really in control of our own lives?

I am very much of the belief that we have complete control of our own lives. As much as I would love to believe that our actions and futures are all controlled by the man upstairs, I just find it very difficult to keep that sort of faith. My desire to believe in a greater being is balanced out by my inability to see any reason to believe, keeping me very firmly in the agnostic bracket of religious groupings.

Many things are, of course, controlled by laws and systems set up by society. I can’t alter my own destiny by simply waking up in the morning, thinking “You know what? I think I’ll be a millionaire now” and going down to the bank to take out money that isn’t mine. That would be ridiculous.

More control lies in the hands of my background. For example, I was born into a line of artists on my mother’s side, to two parents with art degrees – it was highly unlikely (though, of course, entirely possible), then, that I would pursue a career is physics or neurobiology. It was much more likely that I would end up doing a degree that falls under the title of arts or humanities, for example, an English degree. And here I am.

This does not mean I am trapped on this path, however. I could very easily drop out tomorrow and decide that I don’t want to do this degree, resit my exams, and reapply to study a science subject. I’m not going to do that, but I could.

I would love to believe in fate, destiny or God. It would give my life much more of a sense of purpose. But my mind just doesn’t work like that – everything has to be logical, systematic, realistic. 

So to all of you that have a faith that keeps you going, I salute you. You are more strong-minded than I.

And to all of you that just can’t make yourselves believe in anything like that, high five. If you manage to find the meaning of life, PLEASE let me know because I have no idea where to look.

Tx

 

2 thoughts on “Que Sera Sera

  1. Great thought provoking post. I think everyone believes in something. You seem to believe in yourself (as do I), and if you look far enough inward you may find the meaning of life.

    1. Thank you very much! I know that I believe in humanity as a whole, in that I always trust that people will do the right thing in the end. I think that’s enough for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

