There was a town upon a hill
Where the trees were green and the lakes were still
And the people lived in peace until
There came a mighty dragon.

Then every night it came to burn –
The sight would make your stomach turn –
Every man who’d tried to learn
How to slay a dragon.

The villagers, tired of its claws,
Tried oh so hard to make it pause
But soon learned just how cruel it was:
It was a brutal dragon.

But in this village, thankfully,
There lived a girl named Minjung Lee
Who wanted to live peacefully
Without a fearsome dragon.

The elders, they began to laugh
When she offered to slay on their behalf
The beast that shrank their village by half
And went by the name of dragon.

So up she stood without a word
And chose a sharp and deadly sword
And her footsteps were never heard
By the smug old dragon.

So, at the dragon, Minjung rushed
And soon its treacly green blood gushed
For, at last, someone had hushed
The deadliest of dragons.

So now they sing in voices gay,
Though centuries pass, they always say
It was quite the most joyous day
When Minjung slayed the dragon.

This post was written as part of NaPoWriMo, but also for The Daily Post’s “Time for Poetry” writing challenge. Check them out!


> I’m very touched that this post was selected for Freshly Pressed – Thank you very much!

 

43 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo: When Minjung Slayed the Dragon

  1. Hello! My name is Nymphe Foresther. Do yo want to perform web banner exchange with me ? I have traffic on my blog so if we join ours then we have more together… More info about me ? Just click my avatar profile picture or name. Thanks. N.F.

  2. I just read through all of your poems and showed them to my friend (who REALLY likes poetry) and she wanted to let you know that they are AMAZING. We especially liked the style of this one.

  3. I quested for the dragon, and he was in my soul,
    He breathed fire, and on my life he took a horrid toll,
    But a young lady, named Alice with love and tolerance,
    Tamed my beast and through her guidance I found peace.

  4. I love this poem! It sounds good to say out loud, because of the wonderful rhymes and matching syllables. It’s a lovely way to tell a story and a very inspiring story at that. Thank you for sharing this lovely piece!

Leave a Reply

